(BARCELONA GAY LIVE BLOG)

“Barcelona gay leaders say humiliated at Israeli airport”

This is a headline that can be read at http://www.haaretz.com/news/diplomacy-defense/barcelona-gay-leaders-say-humiliated-at-israeli-airport-1.368505

I have never spoken to David Martí but I have seen him in Pride Barcelona and I have watched him in some videos last years because he is the one behind Pride Barcelona. It is true that in my blog I do not speak very well about Pride Barcelona but I am just critizising the commercial side of these prides. My words are not against Pride Barcelona in particular let alone David Martí! I just do not like the commercialization of gay rights!

Anyway, some minutes ago I was also writing a post about Tel Aviv as the guest of Pride Barcelona and now I have read this news. I do not know yet if the news have reached the Catalan media so I am going to write a post about this incident in Catalan now.

It seems that the treatment of David Martí and his partner were not nice but I think that when you think about Israel you always must think about security, security and security!

Some decades ago I also got a very hard control in Switzerland and I have never complaint!

I hope David Martí tells us more about the incident! He has a very impressive look and I wonder if the people at the airport confused his look – quite typical in the lgbt community! – with the look of a dangerous man!

Let me end by sending thousands of kisses to the lgbt community in Israel. I LOVE DANA INTERNATIONAL!

http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2011/06/19/row-after-israeli-airport-staff-strip-search-barcelona-gay-rights-leaders-boyfriend/

One response

  1. There is also echo of this incident in the Arab media: http://angryarab.blogspot.com/2011/06/humiliation-of-gays-in-israel.html

    It seems that they are not happy that gay celebration take place in Tel Aviv as they see it too as occupiend land. I thought that only Gaza Strip and Cisjordania were occupied territory, not Tel Aviv. The good thing is that at least there is acknowledge that the repression of Israel also affects gay Palestinians! I am sure the gays in Gaza Strip are much better treated by Hamas … Anyway they always can try to escape the brutal repression of Israel and go to Saudi Arabia or Iran …

    June 19, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Leave a Reply

