(BARCELONA GAY LIVE BLOG)

Mohamed bin Hammam and the tshirt of FC Barcelona

First of all, let me congratulate current FC BARCELONA for winning the Champions League. I congratulate them for two reasons: One is for winning and the other to win it without still wearing Qatar Foundation on their tshirt.

Today I have read that Mohamed bin Hammam has been suspended by FIFA as they study some allegations of brivery.

Mohamed bin Hamman is not just related to football but also to Qatar.

The coach of Barcelona, Pep Guardiola supported the Qatar bid 2022 and he has publicly supported the sponsoring of Barça tshirt by the Qatar FoundatioN. He said that in Qatar there are injstices like everywhere (YEAH, HE IS RIGHT, IN BARCELONA, WE HOMOSEXUALS GO TO JAIL, TOO …) and that in QATAR people had freedom (freedom to go to jail if you are homosexual???)

I say all this because I find that it is not nice that Barça wears an ad from a dictatorship who puts homosexuals in jail and where the rights of woman are not precisely the best.

Just for thoses reasons I find that Qatar Foundation in the front of the tshirt is worng but now that I have read that Mohamed bin Hamman, from Qatar,  has been suspended by FIFA, I even see the deal between Qatar and Barcelona as a very hard blow.

Sometimes I try to see the things in the perspective of an international company like Barça. They have fans from around the world. It is obvious that their attachment with Qatar Foundation bring bring a lot of supporters from the Arab world. On the other hand their gay supporters to lose with this new tshirt are nothing in comparison with the number of new fans from Arab countries to win.

I understand that for a business is better milions of new Arab supporters than just three angry gay men from barcelona city annoyed with the deal.

But Barcelona headquarters are not in Qatar. They are in Barcelona! So I expect that a team that has its headquarters in barcelona complies with European rules. And I find it is discriminatory to accept a deal which would have never happened was Barceça a lgbt football team.

I am horriefied by the support that Barça has in catalonia and in other places. This club who believes to be “MORE THAN A CLUB” does not do anything to fight homophobia! In fact they just do the opposite: They have deals with Qatar.

And the worse is that now the shadow about Mohamed bin Hamman can make the new tshirt of FC BARCELONA even uglier. 

Leave a comment